Skip to main content

NDAFP News Now

2014 NDAFP Annual Meeting Highlights

11/21/14 (Fri)

The North Dakota Academy of Family Physicians held their 59th Annual Meeting in Grand Forks, ND November 14-15.  Due to a change in the governance structure, there were no elections for new officers or board members this year. 


                The following officers continue in their positions:

                        President -                   Hayley Svedjan Walz, M.D., Grand Forks

                        President – Elect -        Kamille Sherman, M.D., Dickinson   

                        Vice President -            David Field, M.D., Bismarck            

                        Chairman–                   Robert Wells, M.D., Jamestown


                Board of Directors are:

                        Heidi Philpot, M.D., Grand Forks

                        Derek Wayman, M.D., Devils Lake

                        Mandy Sorlie, M.D., Jamestown

                        Aaron Garman, M.D., Beulah

                        Kimberly Krohn, M.D., Minot

                        Bradley Braunagel, M.D., Fargo



In addition, the North Dakota Academy of Family Physicians Foundation held their annual meeting at the same time.  The following physicians are serving in the following offices:

        President – Kimberly Krohn, M.D., Minot

        Vice President – Charles Breen, M.D., Hillsboro

                Also serving of the Board of Directors are:

                        David Field, M.D., Bismarck

                        Rup Nagala, M.D., Oakes

                        Charlie Christianson, M.D., Grand Forks

                        Richard Vetter, M.D., Fargo

                        Guy Tangedahl, M.D., Bismarck

                        Gaurav Bansode, M.D., Minot

                        Roger Schauer, M.D., Hettinger


The following awards were presented at the Annual Meeting as well. 


Friend of Family Medicine

Patrick Moore, MD from Grand Forks was selected as the 2014 Recipient of the Friend of Family Medicine Award.  Dr. Patrick Moore fulfills all the criteria sought in the recipient of the NDAFP’s Friend of Family Medicine Award.  Dr. Moore has a history of working diligently for the NDAFP to further the ideals of family medicine, has made significant contributions to the NDAFP, its members and their patients and has been an outstanding teacher of family medicine.


Dr. Moore has been an active member of the NDAFP for 35 years, since completing his Family Practice Residency in Bismarck in 1979.  He served on the NDAFP Board of Directors for many years and then completed the leadership tract, serving as president from August 1989 to August1990.  He also served as ND delegate to the AAFP House of Delegates from 1998 to 2000.


Unlike many who complete the leadership tract, Dr. Moore has remained very active and involved in the organization, contributing countless hours while serving on the NDAFP Big Sky Family Practice Update Planning Committee since 1989.  He continues to serve on this committee, selecting the best topics and searching out the best speakers from across the nation.  Without Dr. Moore’s generous gift of time and talent, our Big Sky Update would not have been able to continue with the success it has enjoyed for the past 37 years.   The Big Sky Update has been of vital importance to the organization as the primary source of funding for our small chapter, which has allowed us to promote our specialty to medical students and residents and provide services to our members.  The Big Sky Update is the primary identity the NDAFP has for most physicians outside of our organization.


Dr. Moore has served as a Don Breen preceptor for our organization.  He is a clinical faculty member in the Family Medicine Department of the UND School of Medicine and Health Sciences and has been an active teacher of medical students and residents in Family Medicine during his career in New Rockford, Altru in Grand Forks and now with the Veteran Affairs Clinic in Grand Forks.



ND Family Physician of the Year -

Kimberly Krohn, MD, MPH, FAAFP has been selected as the North Dakota Family Physician of the Year award winner.  Dr. Krohn is an active member of the NDAFP, AAFP, and NDMA.  She is always encouraging residents, students and colleagues to get involved in their local medical societies.  She has served as President of the NDMA and is the current director for the UND Center for Family Medicine – Minot residency program.  She has testified before committees of the state legislature on matters pertaining to Family Medicine topics.  She is dedicated to furthering the education of the next generation of medical students and residents.


Dr. Krohn believes in leading by example.  She has an active full spectrum family medicine practice in addition to her leadership responsibilities.  She still delivers her own obstetrical patients and follows the babies as they grow up.  She has multigenerational families in her practice and has patients to whom she has been their doctor for their entire lives.  She still admits her own patients to the hospital and follows them to the nursing home.  She exemplifies the ‘from birth to death’ ideal of Family Medicine.  She still does home visits on her patients and encourages residents to do home visits on patients to whom a trip to the clinic is a challenge.  She is active in Trinity Hospital committees and serves on the Medical Executive Committee, Medical Information and Technology Committee and Education Committee.  She is Vice Chair of the Quality Improvement Committee and Vice Chair of the Department of Medicine at Trinity Hospital.  Dr. Krohn is a deputy assistant county coroner for Ward County and she does child abuse exams for the Northern Plains Children’s Advocacy Center.  She is Vice President of the Minot Rotary Club.


Dr. Krohn is an instructor for the ALSO (Advanced Life Support in Obstetrics) course.  She continues to do research projects and usually involves resident so they develop their research skills and are exposed to poster presentations at National Meetings.  She has been the champion for the national APGAR Asthma Screening research project at our clinic for the past several years.


Dr. Krohn is a role model for the students, residents and colleagues who are privileged enough to work with her.   Her passion and enthusiasm for being a Family Medicine physician are evident.  She is an outstanding candidate for the Family Physician of the Year award.




Should you have any questions concerning this information, please contact Brandy Jo Frei, Executive Director at 701-772-1730.